Monday, October 07, 2013

App "Stravaganza" With One iPad



I have been very fortunate to have at least one iPad in my classroom this year. I was like a kid at Christmas downloading all kinds of apps and then it hit me. How in the world do I use just ONE iPad effectively? I mean, I have 21 students...Actually I teach 3 rotations of 21 students so really I have 63 students. I was all excited and then the frustration hit me like a ton of bricks. Most of the iPad apps I found were great but were really for just one student because it tracked progress. How would that be useful when I have 63? Also, many apps that were free were just teaser apps. They best part about the apps were in the "In-App" purchases.

To help with the idea of the app only tracking one student, I've taught my students how to reset the apps. I had to make up  my mind that I wasn't going to use them for that but more for math groups and independent workstations. However I have started and "App Of The Week" on my board and students write down these apps in their agendas to download with parent permission. I've gotten great feedback from both students and parents about that. It's also a great way to show parents how I am utilizing the iPad my school's Foundation purchased.

I've been suckered into many app purchases and ended up disappointed. Yes...I am one of those that leaves comments about such. Buyer beware....The reality is that we won't like everything we buy or download. We have to do our homework.  Soooo to help you with your homework I am going to share with you the apps I am using currently that I LOVE! No.....not all of them are free. I would love to say the best things in life are free, but when it comes to apps that is not always the case. I am doing an App training at my school this week so I thought I'd just share what I created for them with you.

I've listed the apps (with pictures...I am a visual learner) as well as how I use them on a daily basis. I've also included other ideas for their use.

I am by no means an expert in the one iPad classroom, but I am learning. Sometimes I succeed and sometimes I fail. However, that is what drives me to want to find out and explore more....

Click on this link to grab your free copy of my App "Stravaganza" Math Apps.... Well, I did include some ways to incorporate ELA too.  Remember, I am only teaching math this year. :)



21 comments:

  1. Thanks for the tips...we are also a one iPad class! Downloaded and will read your ideas and hope to implement some of them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you! Our staff just received our staff iPads, so this comes in handy!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Hi again Pam, I am in your shoes as well - with the one ipad classroom. Just like you I was so excited to get one too. I teach it all this year, including hosting ESOL and EIP reading. Having two non-English speakers in my class I believe was the reason I received the ipad. Although I generally want to speak to them in English, there are times when a translation will simply speed things up. I love the translator app and use it daily! I love the Math Blaster App so far too. Thanks for this post. You'll be seeing a similar one on my blog soon. I'm looking forward to checking out some of the apps you mentioned. Thanks for the hand out as well. I will share it with my teachers.
    - Susan
    3rd Grade Grapevine

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks a lot for the ipad app development services that they have created an app that will help me involve few number of students simultaneously. I really appreciate the efforts.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm working with an App Development Company, and my company recently developed an awesome app for kids must check:
    http://www.devbatch.com/portfolio/zoo-quiz-game-for-iphone-android-by-devbatch/

    ReplyDelete
  6. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
09 10 11 12
Blogging tips