Tuesday, July 02, 2013

Shhhh...It's a Pinterest Secret

Pinterest continues to be on the rise among social media with over 48 million users! That just blows my mind. I initially began using Pinterest because my sister -n- law kept talking about it and helped me sign up. At first I pinned a few things here and there, followed some people I knew but I wasn't really tapping into its full potential.

Now I use it for promoting mainly educational resources, tips, and products and have almost 17,000 followers. I love it! But, have you ever thought of using Pinterest in ways other than just bookmarking things you love and trying to promote products/ideas from others?

If you use Pinterest, you probably know already that the allow you to create "secret" boards. You are allowed to create up to 3 of them. However, you can be invited to as many as you want to accept the invite to. These boards are literally what it says....secret. The public doesn't see what you pin to them. It doesn't show up in anyone's feed either. It's totally secret and shows up at the bottom of your boards. Be careful...once you make a board public it cannot become secret again.

I decided that I wanted to use them as a way to communicate with my family in regards to Christmas and Birthdays. So I created these two boards and sent my family invites to the boards. We used these boards to pin links and pictures of what we wanted for Christmas presents. Perfect! This was exactly how I knew to buy my dad a specific present. I didn't have to go and hunt all the "wish lists" at his favorite stores. I just had to go to my "Christmas" boards. The same was true for my parents when buying for my kids. My mom said that is was the fastest Christmas shopping she'd ever done.....click...and buy....instead of shopping around.
 
Here are the basics  and pictures of to set up and organize your own secret boards with family.

1) Create your boards and remember to make them "secret".
2) Name your boards.
3) Give a description. I put instructions in mine so my family knows what to put in each pin.
4) Invite your family members.
5) Start pinning.


 
 




To make sure my family knows who the pin is actually for, I make sure to put the name of who wants that particular gift and also the date I pin it. If someone actually buys that gift, they can comment on that under the  pin. Of course, we only do that part for the kids so that we don't spoil gifts for the grown-ups.  I just started a board for birthdays...no pins on it yet though.

So, get creative in how you use Pinterest. Here are a few ideas I thought for "secret" boards. They can either be collaborative or just keep them to yourself!

* Use to plan parties and get ideas for decorations and themes
* Use to plan food for parties
* Maybe you are having a baby but don't want anyone else to know the gender....create a board with your wants there.
* Plan a surprise event for someone.

Here's a link to a great blog post with 10 Unique Ways To Use Pinterest Secret Boards. Happy reading!

23 comments:

  1. I love those secret boards! They are the best thing ever! :)

    …andtheyallfalldown...

    ReplyDelete
  2. Hi Pamela! I love your family secret boards idea! Great way to share with my family members & not let the whole world see! I just found your blog through Laura’s linky, I’m your newest Bloglovin’ follower!
    ✿Sue✿
    Science for Kids Blog

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. The Dallas Cowboys once again find themselves in Nike Roshe Run a prickly Nike Free Run position when it comes to their superstar NFL Jerseys wide receiver Dez Bryant and a lower body injury. According to coach wholesale nfl jerseys Jason Garrett, an MRI revealed Bryant cheap nfl jerseys has a slight hairline fracture in his injured right knee. Bryant Nike Air Max 90 went down awkwardly in the first quarter Sunday night against the Chicago Bears, but came back to finish the game. He caught his first touchdown nfl jerseys store pass of the season on a footwork-heavy Nike Air Max 2015 Shoes double-move that seemed to show his knee was in perfect condition.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
09 10 11 12
Blogging tips