Thursday, July 11, 2013

My Friday Five....Back To School Prepping!

If you follow me on my FB you probably remember the cart full of stuff I bought at the Dollar Tree. Well, I decided to cross off a few Pinterest inspired projects off of my list....and my list is really way too long to be honest. It could take me until next school year to make everything. I get a little crazy pinning!

#1

The first project I marked off my list is this one. I've seen it around quite a bit with variations of how it's made. I'm calling mine "In & Out Attendance". The cookie sheet was only $1 too! I am not the craftiest, but I made do with my daughter's pink duct tape and some green Elmer's Masking Tape with flowers on it. It's hard to see the flowers in the picture though. This tape is similar to Washi Tape. I bought the magnets at Big Lots and wrote numbers on them with a Sharpie. I even made one for myself...Notice I am in the Bathroom. Ha! I'll hang it with ribbon on a Command Hook. Those work great even on the block walls at my school and they don't take off the paint. :)

 
Here are some other cute boards that inspired me to do this.
 
#2
 
Next are my fun finds at the Dollar Tree! I am team leader again this year, and I wanted to do something PERSONAL. So I bought these adorable composition books, a few sheets of scrapbook paper, stick on letters, and made them for my team. Each letter is their first name. We do have one guy on the team and I figured he didn't want the bling. His is a bit more basic but still cute. I can't wait to give these out on the first day of preplanning.

 
#3
 
 To make learning a little more personal, I wanted to do something different for multiplication this year. Do you remember back in the 80's when "Friendship Beads" were popular. We use to trade beads and make them to give to friends all the time. I remember having tons of them hanging on my shoe lace and/or backpack. Well, that inspired me to do something similar for multiplication facts. Each student will get one LARGE safety pin at the beginning of the year. Each time they pass they times tables such as the 1's, 2's, 3's, 4's and so on they get to pick out bead to place on their safety pin. You can fit 9 beads if you use the little star shaped ones. They can show these off on the backpack or their shoe lace. Once they fill it up, it doesn't stop there. I've already thought about those kids that zip through the facts quickly. They'll be able to earn another safety pin, but this time the amount of time will be reduced making it more challenging to earn one. They'll earn gold colored beads for the second time.


#4
Did I say I love the Dollar Tree?  I found these cute little cones with sayings on them to reward students when they are doing awesome! I thought these would be great to use when they are in cooperative groups, individuals to just had that "aha" moment. I want to make things more personal so putting these on a student's desk to motivate will be fun!
 
 
#5 
This isn't really so much personal for the kids, but I can't wait to use these for multiplication. I have a Hawaiian themed classroom this year and these multiplication surfboards are perfect. I ordered them from Really Good Stuff. I'm so glad my teammie alerted me to these! They are self stick to any wall and come off easily...so it says. We'll see right?

 
 
Stay tuned because I'm still not done. I plan to go up to my classroom next week to begin setting up. I'll be posting pictures of my new theme, set up, and organization too. :)
 
Credit to Jennifer Jones from Hello Literacy for the adorable font on the pictures and MooandPuppy for the background!
 

24 comments:

  1. The personalized composition books look great! I've actually been waiting to see this post because I am a HUGE Dollar Tree fan! I love your cone idea, too. I saw them and thought they were adorable, but couldn't think of a way to use them. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so glad! My daughter said her middle school teacher used these cones all the time when they played games. The student that got a question right first got a cone on their desk. Then at the end of the game the students that had the most got candy. I love that!

      Delete
  2. Funny! I have two orange cones that I use in my classroom. I actually have them on my "Things to blog about" list. When a student gives an "Awesome Answer" they get to display the cone on their desk until our next "Awesome Answer" is given.

    Renee J
    Growing a Teacher

    ReplyDelete
  3. I bought the behavior cones as well! I saw the dice but forgot to grab them :( lol

    ReplyDelete
  4. LOVE all your ideas! I'll be going to Dollar Tree tomorrow...and to Hobby Lobby to get the makings for the beaded pins! My second graders will love earning beads for their addition and subtraction facts!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Great ideas! I love the personalized notebooks - so unique.

    I am your newest follower :)

    Rae
    Mindful Rambles

    ReplyDelete
  6. Hi,
    My name is Martin and I'm a teacher from Canada. I just started a new website called Resources4teaching where educators can buy and sell lessons and educational resources. We are new and are looking for people to join and put up their materials for sale on our website. We are having an iPad draw for the first 100 Vendors who join and upload at least 1 lesson /resource for sale on our website. There are absolutely no fees to join and you earn royalties of 70%. You can visit us at: http://www.resources4teaching.com

    If you know any other teachers who might be interested in this Website, please forward this to them and if you have any questions, feel free to message me.

    Have a great day

    ReplyDelete
  7. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Dallas Cowboys once again find themselves in Nike Roshe Run a prickly Nike Free Run position when it comes to their superstar NFL Jerseys wide receiver Dez Bryant and a lower body injury. According to coach wholesale nfl jerseys Jason Garrett, an MRI revealed Bryant cheap nfl jerseys has a slight hairline fracture in his injured right knee. Bryant Nike Air Max 90 went down awkwardly in the first quarter Sunday night against the Chicago Bears, but came back to finish the game. He caught his first touchdown nfl jerseys store pass of the season on a footwork-heavy Nike Air Max 2015 Shoes double-move that seemed to show his knee was in perfect condition.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
09 10 11 12
Blogging tips